The Still Mind

Our world observed from stillness

Laughing Zen – The Floor Board

1 Comment

Master: “Please go and fetch me the best piece of pine wood that you can find.”

Disciple: “Yes Master. I will get the best one.”

some time later…

Disciple: “Master I have found the best piece of pine. It’s very fresh and strong.”

Master: “Hmm. No, not good enough. Try again. Go a little deeper into the forest.”

The disciple sets out again. He returns after an hour…

Disciple: “Master, I’m sure that this is the best piece of pine that there is.”

Master: “Hmm… close, but try to find one that is even better. Use your outdoor skills.”

Once again, the disciple goes out on what seems to be a wild goose chase. And then he realizes something…

Disciple: “Ah, this is clearly another test. No matter what branch I bring back, he’s just going to tell me to go find another one, then when I’m feeling completely hopeless, he will tell me that none of the branches are perfect. I’ll just grab another one that’s similar to the one I brought back before.”

He returns to the temple, but as he steps into the master’s den, he trips on the floor board by the door

Master: “Oh, careful…. Hmm, yes, this one is good. Great! Thanks.”

Disciple: “???… Is that all? Isn’t there some lesson that you wanted me to learn or something?”

Master: “No, I just wanted to replace that floor board. I keep tripping on it every time I walk in here.”

Author: Garrett S.

I am a writer, researcher, and 3D CG generalist, who developed a strong penchant for meditation and spiritual practices. I've incorporated that background into my current work manning the helm in directing my own personal animated projects, most notably of which is my "Mr. G" series, and "The Ville".

One thought on “Laughing Zen – The Floor Board

  1. Why is it we always think there is more?

Your Thoughts?

