The Still Mind

Our world observed from stillness

Disappearing Body Meditation

23 Comments

disappearing body meditation

Slowing the mind down allows the body to release from its shackles of physiological and kinesthetic sensation. At times when this happens, the world as we know it becomes something other than that which we are familiar with in everyday life. The phenomenon of the “disappearing body”, where the sensical awareness of the body literally “disappears”, and what is left in its place is what I described as the “electron effect”–one’s being existing in a blanket of probable positions around the local environment–is such a time.

For meditators, the “disappearing body” phenomenon may not be a new thing, but if you’ve never experienced it before, or are wondering how to experience it again, then I’m here to help you initiate it, if you wish. If you’ve ever laid completely still, and released yourself from kinesthetic feeling, then you’ve most likely come into contact with this body-cloaking experience.

The Meditation

As is usual, find a place and time where/when you will experience no interruptions, and commence relaxation. If you are laying on a bed or the floor (as opposed to sitting cross-legged or in a chair), as you are relaxing your muscles, breathe in through the nose, and feel as the air passes soothingly over the epithelial surfaces lining your respiratory tract (inside your nose and down into your lungs). Once the breathing becomes steady and relaxed with each exhalation, picture the surface that your body lays upon as melting together with your body, as you relax deeper. Continuing like this with every exhalation of breath, you may notice the volume of breath becoming diminished somewhat. When the body approaches the cusp of the normal functioning of the ordinary physiological/non-physical dividing line, it will often decrease its need for consumption of all kinds. Many people talk about how they are scared that they will stop breathing at this stage, but since it is such a common phenomenon, just know that it is alright–you will not stop breathing. Matters that involve the subconscious commander of your body stepping behind the wheel and directing the course of your being when it comes to meditation, is not something that will lead you astray. Just let go here, and trust your own mind and body.

It will likely begin as a tingling in the limbs, or some may experience it in the abdomen or forehead (the third eye). Slowly as you let go even further, it will propagate up the arms (or down from the head to the body if you are sitting), and “illuminate” your core with tingles and/or vibration. At this stage, it will feel as though the body has disappeared from a determinable location, and instead is replaced with radiating electricity–this is most notable in the limbs. Now you are in the state of “no body”. When this state arises, try not to force it to stay because it feels pleasant, or force upon it any will whatsoever. Just observe it, and let it do as it will. For some, it may not last very long, especially in the beginning, and if in fact that happens, then do not get frustrated, for you can always try the exercise again at another time.

At the end of your session, rub your palms together until they are warm, place them over your eyes (if they are closed), then open them, slowly.

^_^

 

More articles from The Still Mind

The Gland That Puts The “EYE” in InSight

Progressions in Meditative Practice – The Bi-directional Effect

Mindful Steps – The Art of Moving Stillness

100 Benefits of Meditation

Author: Garrett S.

I am a writer, researcher, and 3D CG generalist, who developed a strong penchant for meditation and spiritual practices. I've incorporated that background into my current work manning the helm in directing my own personal animated projects, most notably of which is my "Mr. G" series, and "The Ville".

23 thoughts on “Disappearing Body Meditation

  1. hmmm, never tried meditation, but my mind is forever working over time…this might be helpful?

    • Yes, very helpful. One of the basic properties of meditation practice is to still the mind. It doesn’t have to necessarily be something that one performs while in the lotus posture on a meditation cushion. If you can find a place to just sit (or lay down) and be with yourself, with no interruptions, then you will be able to have your own meditation session. For some, in the beginning it is useful to count the breaths, and it might also be helpful to just sit and observe (keyword, “observe” and not actively participate in) the thoughts that arise. I do hope that will can find some time to try it if it seems like something that you might want to start doing, because it will definitely bring you a myriad of benefits. 🙂

    • Since I started meditation and began a healthier diet alone ng with mediation 2 years ago I have not had to take any more anxioty meds ( which is was persribed. I was not a pill head.) I was trying everything to get off of them because of the long term effects they have, and I wanted to start using natural methods. Also I was on meds since I was 7 for ADHD ( Which I have been off of those meds to since starting meditation). I have been able to balance my mind and thoughts and focus, and I’ve been able to control my anxioty….. I recommend meditation as a daily practice for anyone. Don’t expect immediate results. It take time, patience, and practice. Namesté

      • since our original correspondence I have begun to meditate and I think it is very helpful…I’ve also been seeing a Naturopath for 6 months and find I am back to my calmer self… 🙂

        • Hi there, Heather. That’s great to hear! I hope that your calmer self keeps up. It’s always a constant struggle to not take on the anxiety from the world that we live in, and keep our body space clear from clutter, so to speak.

          • Yes, Garret…I’ve found some of my anxiety issues stem from something bigger that I’ve not dealt with. So I’ve learned to take a good look at the bigger picture, at what is going on around me to see if there is something I’ve not taken care of or let go. This helps a great deal…

            • Indeed, Heather. This seems to be a big part of the growing process. When there are things that we aren’t able to let go of, they will continue to affect us time and time again, even when it seemed they may have subsided for a spell. They resurface at some point or another, then we relive the same unwanted situation over and over. So it’s an ongoing, fluid process.

      • Indeed, meditation is a great practice to align the monkey mind. Good to hear that you were able to get off the meds. Actually, I was on meds when I was in high school, for anxiety. I stopped taking them, not because of meditation, but simply because I didn’t like the whole idea of meds, and needing to pop a few pills daily for the rest of my life in order to live my life. Later on, I got into meditation, and now I’ve learned to live comfortably with all the thoughts. But the major part of the constant inner dialogue is derived from the fearing what people will think. Give up that, and the never ending wave of thoughts don’t have a purpose.
        But anyway, I hope that everything is still going well with your meditation practice. Let me know, and my apologies for the late reply. I haven’t been active on TSM for the past year or so.
        Namaste

  2. I have dry skin, so sadly every time I reach the relaxed state parts of me start to itch. Very annoying 😦

  3. Just wondering. How come the brilliant image in the widget isn’t the head image?! It looks great! Nice article too.

  4. Pingback: 100 Benefits To Meditation | Miraculous Endeavors

  5. That’s a great meditation, i practice this one often!
    Oh by the way, wanted to comment also on your Everyday kindness small note – this is so precious. Very kind of you to direct attention to the needs of stray animals! All my respect, dear friend!

    • It’s in part because there is a group of stray cats that live around here, and they frequent the yard quite often. I see them searching so desperately for sustenance, and finding so little, so I often set anything that I can spare out for them. I would take them in, but them being wild cats, it’s difficult to approach them without them bolting off, so the most that I can do is just give them something to eat. 🙂
      It’s just my stand that as humans with all our know how and ingenuity, we can help as many of our fellow creatures as possible.

      • Oh I have such a similar experience! 🙂
        I live in the mountain area now in Mediterranean rural region, where there are no animal shelters, but a lot of stray cats.
        They come and gather around my house, searching for food and I always carry cats dry food with me to feed them 🙂
        Also i can’t take all in because they are used to the street, i tried to give shelter in my house for some, but even with all the good treatment the cats still want to be going out when they like.
        So i just keep my eye on them and treat them with daily meal 😉

        God bless people like you! Kindness is contagious and noble!

        • That’s great! You are doing a great deed in helping those cats. It is always a fortunate thing for those animals who happen to live in an area where the people they encounter are kindhearted like you 🙂
          And also here, there’s also a lot of deer. They don’t come around my way as often as the cats do, but they’ve taken some tomatoes from my garden, last spring, so they still get to eat a bit when they visit hehe
          I hope everything is going well with you, and take care ^_^

Your Thoughts?

