The Still Mind

Our world observed from stillness

Bikes To The Rescue

2 Comments

How often do you ride a bike? Or walk instead of drive? When we were kids, riding our bikes and going outside were more than just something that we engaged in to keep fit. It was our way of life. It kept the vitality alive and biting at the bit. As we get older, it seems as though responsibility is a realm of human life laden with over burdening devices and trinkets that are not as needed to the extent that we may think (unless, in the case of a car, one needs to travel farther than their mere muscle-powered legs can take them, fast!).

If there’s a trip that can be forged without the aid of four wheels and an engine, why not opt for biking it up, or simply walking? Catching the sight of the scenery around you as you progress down the street, adds loads to the overall effects of the trip, mentally and physically. It can keep the mind and the body fresh. If you are stressed, a walk or ride can calm the stress reaction, and not to mention the benefits of the exercise that you get from it.

Let’s Challenge ourselves to use our legs more often, and see why we should, in this informative infographic:

Related posts:

Mindful Inventiveness – Pizza Box Laptop Stand

The Scenic Route to a Long Life

In The Future Will You Lose Your Job to Technology

Tomorrow’s World – A Guide to The Next 150 Years

Author: Garrett S.

I am a writer, researcher, and 3D CG generalist, who developed a strong penchant for meditation and spiritual practices. I've incorporated that background into my current work manning the helm in directing my own personal animated projects, most notably of which is my "Mr. G" series, and "The Ville".

2 thoughts on “Bikes To The Rescue

  1. I bought a bike four years ago in an effort to do two things: (1) get me out from behind the computer and (2) make it easier to take pictures when I’m out and about since parking cars can be a real nightmare. I’ve been successful!

    • Nice! I gave up my car a while ago, and now I rely mostly on my legs to get me where I need to go. I do have a bike, and I will be taking it out, and dusting the cobwebs off very soon. I remember riding my bike all the time when I was a kid, and then it just fell away, like most things that fall away but shouldn’t. I’ve definitely been on a mission to get them back, though 😉

Your Thoughts?

